#### CYNGOR GWYNEDD DECISION NOTICE

# (Section 100C of the Local Government Act 1972)

### 24 October 2024

## **Multi-location Meeting**

Attendance:

Councillors: Beca Roberts (Chair)

Ioan Thomas (Vice-chair)

Craig ab Iago, Menna Baines, Beca Brown, Stephen Churchman, Glyn Daniels, Anwen Davies, Dafydd Owen Davies, Elwyn Edwards, Elfed Wyn ap Elwyn, Alan Jones Evans, Gwilym Evans, Dylan Fernley, Delyth Lloyd Griffiths, Jina Gwyrfai, John Brynmor Hughes, Louise Hughes, R. Medwyn Hughes, Iwan Huws, Elin Hywel, Nia Wyn Jeffreys, Anne Lloyd Jones, Berwyn Parry Jones, Dawn Lynne Jones, Dewi Jones, Elin Walker Jones, Elwyn Jones, Gwilym Jones, Gareth Tudor Jones, Huw Wyn Jones, Linda Ann Jones, June Jones, Eryl Jones-Williams, Cai Larsen, Beth Lawton, Dafydd Meurig, Dilwyn Morgan, Linda Morgan, Dewi Owen, Edgar Wyn Owen, Gwynfor Owen, Llio Elenid Owen, Gareth Coj Parry, Nigel Pickavance, John Pughe, Rheinallt Puw, Arwyn Herald Roberts, Elfed P Roberts, Gareth A Roberts, John Pughe Roberts, Meryl Roberts, Richard Glyn Roberts, Huw Llwyd Rowlands, Paul Rowlinson, Angela Russell, Dyfrig Siencyn, Peter Thomas, Menna Trenholme, Rob Triggs, Rhys Tudur, Hefin Underwood, Einir Wyn Williams, Elfed Williams, Gareth Williams, Gruffydd Williams, Sasha Williams and Sian Williams.

# Officers:

Dafydd Gibbard (Chief Executive), Geraint Owen (Corporate Director), Dylan Owen (Corporate Director and Statutory Director of Social Services), Dewi Morgan (Head of Finance), Iwan Evans (Monitoring Officer), Ian Jones (Head of Democracy Services), Vera Jones (Democracy and Language Service Manager), Sion Huws (Propriety and Elections Manager) and Eirian Roberts (Democracy Services Officer).

## **Apologies:**

Councillor Annwen Hughes.

## **CYNGOR GWYNEDD DECISION NOTICE**

(Section 100C of the Local Government Act 1972)

| Date of COUNCIL Meeting | 24 October 2024 |
|-------------------------|-----------------|
|-------------------------|-----------------|

## **SUBJECT**

Item 5: LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND ELECTIONS (WALES) ACT 2021 - DECISION ON ADOPTING A SINGLE TRANSFERABLE VOTE SYSTEM FOR CYNGOR GWYNEDD ELECTIONS

#### **DECISION**

Not to adopt a single transferable vote system for Cyngor Gwynedd elections hereafter in accordance with Section 8 of the Local Government and Elections (Wales) Act 2021.

## THE RESULT OF THE VOTE

| In favour of adopting STV | 45 |
|---------------------------|----|
| Against adopting STV      | 22 |
| Abstentions               | 1  |

In order to adopt the single transferable vote system, the number of members who vote in favour must be at least two thirds of the number of seats on the Council, namely 46 out of 69.

As the threshold of 46 was not met, the system will not change for the 2027 elections and the review of Electoral Arrangements will not commence.

## **DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST AND PROTOCOL MATTERS**

No declarations of personal interest or relevant dispensations were received.